The Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) in the Horn of Africa was established in 1996, and replaced the Intergovernmental Authority on Drought and Development (IGADD). Its mission is to support its seven members - Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, Sudan, Uganda and Eritrea - in their efforts to collaborate on humanitarian and environmental issues. These include:

  • Food security and environmental protection
  • Promotion and maintenance of peace and security and humanitarian affairs, and;
  • Economic cooperation and integration.

The IGAD Biodiversity Programme (BMP) is an EU financed programme which supports IGAD in its effort to protect the diverse wildlife, habitats and flora in the horn of Africa. 

Go to the IGAD website >

Find our more about the Biodiversity Management Programme >